## **Editorial**

## Quality in Primary Care 2011

A Niroshan Siriwardena MMedSci PhD Professor of Primary and Prehospital Health Care, School of Health and Social Care, University of Lincoln, Lincoln, UK

Quality in Primary Care marks a number of turning points as a journal. In 2012 it moves to its 10th year and 20th volume as Quality in Primary Care. For the first time in its history it had a greater number of submissions from outside the United Kingdom in 2011. The journal's unofficial impact factor continues to increase and doubled in 2010 to 0.6 (number of citations per article per year over the previous two years calculated using www.scimagojr.com.

Last year we received 84 submissions to the journal. These were from the United Kingdom (40), Australia and New Zealand (10), Mainland Europe (18), the United States and Canada (10), the Middle East and Asia (2), South America (2) and Africa (2). Most articles submitted in 2011 were research papers (53); other formats included editorials or guest editorials (5), articles on quality improvement in action (7), short reports (3), discussion papers (1), patient safety (1), international exchange (4), quality digest (6) and 'knowledgeshare' (1) articles.

We have had two themed issues including a special issue on 'The future of primary healthcare in Europe' (guest editors: Peter Groenewegen and Diederik Aarendonk) based on the conference of that name in Pisa during the previous summer and 'Creating quality primary health care in Australasia' (guest editor: Moyez Jiwa). I am grateful to the guest editors for their work and support of the journal. In 2012 we look forward to further themed issues on interprofessional education (guest editor: Keith Stevenson) and nurse prescribing (guest editor: Sarah Redsell).

For articles submitted in 2011, the average time (for 50 articles published) was 175 days from submission to publication, acknowledgement 3.5 days, initial decision 89 days and submission to final decision 123 days. We initially reject around 50% of unsolicited papers, although some of these are published following extensive revision and resubmission. Overall, excluding commissioned articles and editorials, 60% of papers were accepted or accepted subject to revision.

I would like to thank all the members of the editorial board for their valuable contributions to the journal and our peer reviewers, recognised experts in their field, who gave generously of their time over the past year. I am indebted to them for the speed and quality of their reviews. A full list of peer reviewers is included below. I would like to thank Natalie Pickles, my previous editorial assistant who has left for pastures new and to Sue Bowler who has taken over from her. Finally I would like to thank Andrea Hargreaves, journals manager at Radcliffe Publishing for her support over the past year.

We look forward to your ongoing contribution and support and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you, our readers and contributors, all good wishes of the season and success for the next year and beyond.

## Reviewers in 2011

Elizabeth Barnett

Henricus Van Den Heuvel Kath Checkland Alan Bee Andrew Knight Andy Meal Arnold Mitnitski Bernaed Silke Byrd Quinlivan Charles Hennekens Charles Juwah Christine Johnson Christopher Hollenbeak Coral Sirdifield David Cunningham David Lewis David Persaud Diederik Aarendonk Diego Schrans **Eleanor Simonsick** Elizabeth Evans Elsbeth Taminiau-Bloem Erno Harzheim Gareth Morgan Geoff Gill Hana Burgess Harm van Marwijk

Helen Close Hideto Takahashi J. Kellogg Parsons Janine Janosky Jenny Gallagher Jo Middlemass Joanne Reeve John Browne John Sharvill John Unsworth Judy Smith Julie McGarry

Karen Andersen-Ranberg

Kate Weiner Katie Walsh Kay Price Ken McLean

Kenneth Rockwood

Kerri Wright Kevin Smith Maria Joyce

Marianne Rosendal Mark Shapley Markos Klonizakis Martin von Fragstein

Martina Kelly Mary Stergiou-Kita Maxine Offredy Megan Crawford Michael Watson Mojtaba Vaismoradi

Moyez Jiwa Nadya Essam Nicholas Steel Peter Groenewegen Peter Leggatt

Peter Wilcock Puja Myles Richard Knox Ros Kane Rubina Hussain Sally Brown Sara Muller Sarah Redsell Shaonong Dang Sharon Lawn Sian Oram Simon Kyle Sophia Chan Stefan Wilm StellaMay Gwini Stephanie Martin Steven Ornstein Suneth Agampodi Tami Borneman Therese Zink Tilley Pain Tim Swanwick Ulrike Iunius-Walker

Vicki Benard Viet-Hai Phung Yoon Kim

Zowie Davy

## ADDRESS FOR CORRESPONDENCE

A Niroshan Siriwardena Professor of Primary and Prehospital Health Care

School of Health and Social Care

University of Lincoln Lincoln LN6 7TS

UK

Tel: +44 (0)1522 886939 Fax: +44 (0)1522 837058

Email: nsiriwardena@lincoln.ac.uk